Light it up

Dear Reader,

Hey, you. Yes, you, the one taking a quick break from work, sitting there with your cup of coffee or standing in line at the grocery store checking your iPhone.

That’s right. I’m talking to you.

I just wanted to say thank you. Thank you for reading. Thanks for paying attention. Thank you for taking a moment from the million other duties and distractions of your day to peek into my little corner of virtual reality. Thank you for connecting.

This morning, for the millionth time, I got lost in the forest of forgetting why I do this. Why write? What’s my purpose? It’s an old yawn, I’m telling you. I won’t bore you with the details, but to cut to the chase, the story always ends with me shrugging it off with, “I write to know what I think.” Then I move on.

Well, before moving on this time, I realized that the why doesn’t stop with the writing and the self-discovery. My why is the Why of all authors: why publish? Why share any of this gibberish? Why aspire to be read? Why risk the embarrassment of a bad review or the even worse horror of being utterly ignored?

It came to me. I share my words for one reason only: to light up another mind. I can only guess that most other writers do this for basically the same reason, though they might articulate it in a different way. Outside of the publishing realm, that sort of illumination could happen musically, or through sculpture, or inspirational speaking, or perhaps by great acting.

Why does anyone do anything that someone else might see or hear and as a result be changed? As a somewhat reserved introvert, this is not a flippant question. That sort of responsibility is a bit daunting for someone whose relational comfort zone is no more than two human interactions at a time.

But enough about me. Back to you, Reader. The answer to all these questions leads back to you, to the one with the patience and interest to get all the way to the bottom of this blog post. Yes, I write for me, to know what I think. But I share for you. And I am so unbelievably grateful that you made it this far to find out why.

Here it is, my great admission, my reason for putting my words out into the world: I would like for your life to be changed for the better by what I write.

Wow, is that ever egotistical or what? But it’s true, maybe the truest thing I have ever shared here. Perhaps the change in your life is just a momentary lifting up of a difficult day, knowing that there is someone out there that wishes the very best for you. (I do, I really do!) Or maybe you will go pick up your pen for the first time in ages and enrich your life (and the world) by writing down the poem that’s been on your heart for years.

I don’t know what you’re going to do next today. And I sure as shooting don’t know what’s happening in your brain right now. But I can tell you this: I hope it’s lighting up like a Christmas tree.

Thank you, Reader, for being the one to take a risk on my ramblings.

With so much gratitude,

Kelly

*****

Photo by Dawid Zawiła on Unsplash

2 thoughts on “Light it up

Leave a Reply

