My Cat Jeoffry

A guest post by Sam Belmonte

One of the reasons I like My Cat Jeoffry (by Christopher Smart) is that it reminds me of my cats, Lucy and Penny. (Sadly, Penny went over the Rainbow Bridge a few years ago.) Here’s a picture of Lucy and Penny together by the fireplace:

1011968_10202850765099422_1508618059_n

Another reason I like the poem is that its hilarious! Ten out of ten – that’s how much I like it! It’s basically saying every house is incomplete without a cat (or any kind of pet). Like our house… here’s a picture of Penny with our dog, Beau:

1477431_10202676093052730_2043008304_n

One of my favorite parts of the poem is “for seventhly he fleas himself, that he may not be interrupted on the beat.”

To sum it all up, I recommend this poem for you to read.

*****

Sam is an avid reader and LEGO master builder. He’s going into 5th grade this year.

 

 

7 thoughts on “My Cat Jeoffry

  1. Mary says:

    It’s a wonderful poem! Thanks for your enthusiastic review, Sam. It really made me want to read it. Well done!

  2. Dianne Mosley says:

    Good job, Sam. It made me want to read the poem, too, and I did. Thank you for introducing me to this poem.

Leave a Reply

