NaPoWriMo Day 25

Slow me down

(A found poem, lifted from the pages of “Walking on Water” by Madeleine L’Engle)

A covered bridge in the autumn

The silent dying of the green pie-apple tree

Slow down and listen to

the telling of stories around tribal fires

the drawing of animals on the walls of caves

the death of green in autumn –

A  recurrent ache in the heart of God

Listen to the silence

Slow me down

Forced to listen, to smile, to write

the very vehemence

Stop and listen

Rebellious, I feel

reluctant to think or write

I feel the presumption

Slow me down, Lord.

 

[This started out as an attempt at erasure, in delayed response to the Day 21 NaPoWriMo.net prompt. But without access to a photocopier, and unwilling to destroy a copy of “Walking on Water,” I decided to go the route of found poem and simply borrow a few lines from a particularly interesting page. I think this fits somewhat in the spirit of erasure, while making me appreciate once again this treasure of a book which I had not opened in years.]

4 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo Day 25

Leave a Reply

