NaPoWriMo Day 11

Image by ProjectManhattan via Wikimedia Commons
Image by ProjectManhattan via Wikimedia Commons

Play on Words

By Holly Ordway

Beside my bed – when I was four or five –
There stood a white magnetic board, with letters,
Brightly colored, that I could touch and move

In any pattern that I liked – a language
Of shapes before I knew the words, arrayed
Across the first blank page I ever loved:

A page of infinite potential, requiring
Nothing, demanding nothing, only inviting,
Beckoning me to come and be enspelled.

*****

Holly is a poet, teacher, and apologist exploring the intersection of literature and faith, reason and imagination. She is the author of the memoir Not God’s Type: An Atheist Academic Lays Down Her Arms.  

Leave a Reply

