Sayings from the Cross: The Last Word

Image by Emil Bacik via Freeimages.com
Image by Emil Bacik via Freeimages.com

The Seventh Word

by Doug Jackson

And when Jesus had cried with a loud voice, he said, Father, into thy hands I commend my spirit: and having said thus, he gave up the ghost.

Into Thy hands now Father I commend
The spirit my own hands can hold no more.
Life leaks forth five-fold from me as they rend
My flesh and let forth all that it has stored.
I sought this hour, put all things to the touch –
And still believe – but now descends the dark.
Has my faith been enough? Perhaps too much?
Nailed arms can’t clasp or clutch as life departs.
For all who fear as faith turns into sight,
At last when mysteries must be understood,
Who watch the dawn and half-yearn for the night,
Whose feet can find no bottom that is good:
This is the legacy to you bequeathed:
“You promised!” was the last prayer that I breathed.

*****

Doug Jackson is a preacher/professor/poet who after a quarter-century in the pastorate now teaches spiritual formation, pastoral ministry, and Greek for the Logsdon Seminary program at the South Texas School of Christian Studies in Corpus Christi. His collection of poetry, Nothing There is Not More, is available from Finishing Line Press.

Leave a Reply

