In like a lion, out like a limerick

"Spring" in New England
“Spring” in New England

In like a lion, out like a lamb. Right?

Today is March 31st (the “out like a lamb” part), and we woke up to sleet tapping the windows and freezing rain slicking up the drive in a gray slushy mess. Then there was some snow, and a bit of rain, which I guess was April showers showing up early.

Nothing lambish about it, my friends.

And that is why March was made for limericks. Like the leprechaun, March is full of mischief. Here in New England, maybe it’s more like a box of chocolates – “You never know what you’re gonna get.”

I’ve been surprised and delighted with the range of limericks that have rolled out over the past few weeks, even as some Muses may have been hesitant to play. (“Limericks? Really, Belmonte? You’ve got to be kidding me.”)  I know.

I confess: They’re not my favorite form, either. But there are times I need to step outside myself and my soggy March seriousness, times when a little sing-songy rhyming is just what the doctor ordered.

March leaves us all like a lion
with sleet, snow, and very much cryin’.
When the lamb finally appears
we’ll give him three cheers
for green grass and robins a-flyin’.

Well, that’ll have to do. In the meantime, I’ll get to work on the rhyme-scheming in preparation for next month’s featured form: The villanelle.

2 thoughts on “In like a lion, out like a limerick

Leave a Reply

