Why would you listen to anything in a poem?

“…I don’t / know why you would even listen to anything in a poem / except that it might stop you for a moment, it might / make you lift your head and look around in just that / lonely hour of the day or night when the world isn’t / quite enough.” – From “When You Saw the Lightning” by Frank X. Gaspar (Late Rapturous)

Image by Mike Tamasila courtesy of http://www.rgbstock.com/
Image by Mike Tamasila courtesy of http://www.rgbstock.com/

For the second week in a row, someone listened to something in one of my poems from Three Ways of Searching, and then wrote about it – and at length, at least compared to the size of my pieces. Bethany Rohde chose to riff on my mental droplet about hanging laundry:

As I hang the laundry to dry,
clothespin by clothespin,
I wonder
if your experience of us feels at all
like my experience of us

I’m glad she picked this piece, because it’s one of my pets. I like the feeling of hanging sheets and pants and such out on the clothesline. Hanging laundry to dry outside has to happen when the weather is cooperative, when it’s dry and warm with a slight breeze, which is a good memory this time of year. Sun shines down, the dragonflies are buzzing about. It puts me in the mood for meditative thought, clothespin by clothespin.

The previous week it was Doug Jackson riffing on a snapshot of someone pining away way too long. I’m so grateful both Doug and Bethany are kind and generous with my words and their reflections on them. While I’m partial to poetry, like Gaspar, I still don’t understand fully why anyone would listen to anything in a poem. But maybe, just maybe, it might make them lift their heads, look around, at just that lonely hour. So I keep writing and reflecting, because there are times when the world isn’t quite enough.

One thought on “Why would you listen to anything in a poem?

Leave a Reply

