Bravery

I’m going to be brave this year. That’s what I told everyone the other day on my blog.

Brave. Yeah.

So my first act of bravery was to rewrite a poem I had been preparing for publication so that it was real. It was a nice poem before I rewrote it. But I wanted to go for authenticity. Power. My true voice. None of this “we” business to soften the blow, but “I” and “you.”

Then I read it after rewriting it. And I got scared, because it was no longer a “nice poem.” It was very good, and it was very honest. That’s when my brave really needed to kick in.

This post appeared originally in its entirety at Hieropraxis.com. Read the rest here.]

Leave a Reply

