Brave

“I am an instigator of poetry.” That’s how I described it about a year ago, as I was trying to put a name to what drives me to not only write, but to get others to do the same.

I may be an instigator, but I think there’s something else at play here – my need for a good talking to. I am a writer in need of a pep talk, so I go about telling others what I need to hear myself. It’s my own rather self-centered version of the Golden Rule.

To that end, I am sharing with you my theme song for the year.

 

I wonder what would happen if you

Say what you wanna say

And let the words fall out

Honestly I wanna see you be brave

 

Thank you, Sara Bereilles! I love this. It’s exactly the “talking to” I need. And it’s what I want to give away to anyone who has something stuck at the back of the throat that needs spitting out.

I love the video, too, how the dancers are all not perfect but quite beautiful each in their own way. I love the awkwardness on the faces of the observers, the unintended audiences. I love how some of the by-standers join in, and others walk away.

It’s the way it works with art, with poetry. Putting it out there – it’s awkward at times, and funny, and then something magic happens for some, and for others not so much. Still, it’s not about the others, it’s about you letting the words fall out.

Show me how big your brave is.

3 thoughts on “Brave

  1. Pingback: Bravery | All Nine

Leave a Reply

