Day 27: Slice yourself a piece of grace

Image by Alex27 via stock.xchng
Image by Alex27 via stock.xchng

Thanksgiving Sonnet

The tipping point at year’s eleventh hour

I stop mid-rush to slice a piece of grace

and raise a glass to beneficent power.

Yet all this pausing keeps me from the chase

 

of things more lovely and things simply more.

I’m told I lack and so therefore I must buy

the overflow of someone else’s store.

Oh, for a barn that reaches to the sky!

 

So high my thoughts, yet staring at the floor

I see another world and wonder why

my world, so rich, so full, became so small.

 

In true thanksgiving, I must now adore

an empty barn, a heart that cannot fly,

and bleeding hands that hold my all in all.

*****

I wrote this two years ago in response to a challenge to write a sonnet for Thanksgiving. I shared it last year as well, and again it reminds me to pause and love what is truly lovely. Cheers, my friends. I give thanks for and with you this holiday and every day. Happy Thanksgiving.

One thought on “Day 27: Slice yourself a piece of grace

Leave a Reply

