Day 4: 2013 Book Consumption

In January I started keeping a list of books I had finished reading. I did this because I have a habit of reading about ten books at once and not getting through any of them very quickly. I thought this would help move me through my reading more effectively. Around the same time, I started listening to audiobooks in my car much more than I had previously. As a result of both of these things, my capacity to “consume” books increased somewhat dramatically.

Below is a partial version of that list, in alpha order by title (just because that’s easier for me). I’ve excluded books I didn’t like so much, the countless books I’ve read with my seven-year-old, books I’ve forgotten I read (like the ones on vacation), and the numerous short stories I’ve devoured at night from “The Best American Mystery Stories of the Century” (edited by Tony Hillerman and Otto Penzler).

I share this list now for three reasons:

  1. I am participating in NaBloPoMo and this makes for a useful and relatively easy post to do on a Monday morning.
  2. I would recommend any of these books, for different reasons. There’s a range of stuff here. You might like some of them.
  3. I am curious about what others are reading, what you think of these, etc. Share in comments, please.

And now, the list:

  • Better: A Surgeon’s Notes on Performance, Atul Gawande (audiobook)
  • Deeply Odd, Dean Koontz
  • I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts on Being a Woman, Nora Ephron (audiobook)
  • Lean In, Sheryl Sandberg (audiobook)
  • Let Evening Come, Jane Kenyon
  • Miraculous, Kevin Belmonte (audiobook)
  • Odd Apocalypse, Dean Koontz
  • On Writing, Stephen King
  • Quiet, Susan Cain
  • Skintight, Carl Hiaasen
  • Sleeping with Cats, Marge Piercy
  • Star Island, Carl Hiaasen
  • Steve Jobs, Walter Isaacson (audiobook)
  • Teaching With Fire, Sam Intrator
  • The Help, Kathryn Stockett (audiobook)
  • The Moon is Always Female, Marge Piercy
  • The Scrapbook of Miss Gail Standish Ward, Miss Gail Standish Ward
  • **To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee (audiobook)
  • What’s So Funny, Donald Westlake

**To Kill a Mockingbird remains my favorite novel of all time. Listening to it in the car was a joy, and reminded me all over again of the gold standard of story-telling. Harper Lee set the bar high indeed.

Leave a Reply

