Three Ways, Two Chances, and One Very Cool Review

mybookWriters have these moments. You know, the ones when they’re thinking, “What’s the point of all these words?” And I never have a good answer to that question. I really don’t.

What I do know, though, is nearly always when I get to that point of putting away my poetry pen for good, I get a word that says, “Hold the phone, Belmonte. Not yet. I’m not done with you yet.”

And so it went this week. I had just said to no less than three people, “I think I’ll stop writing for awhile,” when this word from Gina Dalfonso (via her review of my book “Three Ways of Searching” on Breakpoint.org) came through:

“The collection can be read quickly, but it shouldn’t be; it should be read, reread, and savored as nourishment for the mind and the soul. Such close and careful readings will reward even those of us who always thought of modern poetry as a closed book.”

Nourishment. Opening books that were closed. So, I am of use after all. Contented sigh…

And so here I am, writing again… at least enough to say, “Thank you, Gina.” And to whoever may be reading this now, here’s your chance to win a copy of my book  (two chances, actually, since they’re giving away two copies). Easy entry: Simply add your favorite poet and/or poem to the comments section of Gina’s post, and you’ll be automatically entered into the drawing to be held Tuesday at 5 p.m. Eastern.

Tell all your friends, especially your writer friends who may be wondering what’s the point of all these words. Tell them it matters. Their words matter, they really do. Be that one very cool (and timely) review for the writer in your life.

Leave a Reply

