Midweek Muse: Waiting

DSC05190

A couple years ago during Advent, I wrote the senryu series below. Originally it was four different pieces written spontaneously on Twitter (four separate tweets). Later I put them together as one poem. Somewhat disjointed, but I still think it captures what is the hope-filled, waiting, stressed, “in-spite-of-it-all” faith that marks this season for me.

Advent

Barely aware, we
wait for you like soiled winter
for clean snow cover

Worry, guilt, anger,
distraction: I set aside
and wait. I’m waiting.

Tree of life, light, hope
drops a leaf to spare us all.
Pages bleed story.

It’s all about one
death defying act of birth.
Yes, I still believe.

 

Leave a Reply

